16th June ‘10  (taken from my personal journal…)

What is it I feel,
that cannot be seen or touched?
It appears on occasion without my bidding,
but when looked for, is not there.
It is everywhere all at once, but nowhere I choose to look.

It reaches out from the depths of my soul
to the far distance
…but is without distance. 
No thought is allowed to find it,
but the soul, allowed to experience it.

The feeling is exquisite, 
but only in memory, 
for to grasp at it is to make it fade to nothing, 
like patterns in a cloud, 
it comes, then goes again, only seen for a moment.

~~~~

I understand now why it is that the majority of people today will scoff at the possibility of this sort of experience.
It is something that can only be experienced by those who seek it… it took me years, and even then, it was an accident!
It is not something tangible.
It cannot be detected or measured by science.
It cannot be seen, smelled, heard, touched, or tasted… so to all sensibilities, if it cannot be explained, captured, controlled, measured, or easily reached by the majority of people, then it doesn’t exist.

To my shame, I used to be one of these people who simply couldn’t, nay, wouldn’t accept the possibility of the experiences of spiritualism… and I had the gall to call myself open minded!  I now realise that I was not, and am still not open minded.  But I am certainly a lot more open minded than I was in the past.

The reason that the general population refuse to believe in this possibility is most likely down to the cultural acceptance in the western world that has built over the last 300 years or so, since the likes of Issac Newton, et al, started to explain the inexplicable, by the discovery of nature’s laws through the ways of science.
Educated people were suddenly empowered with knowledge of how the planets moved, what an eclipse was, why the seasons happened, and the reasons that not all summers were productive, etc, etc.

The need to believe in something of a spiritual nature, (generally a religion and its God) started to fade away.  The inexplicable was now explicable.
The need to believe was eroded by the newly available knowledge and the understanding that came with it.

Belief doesn’t require understanding…  Understanding negates belief(Nov ’09)

Technologically and culturally in the 21st century, we are now at the stage where we have no need for belief and faith, except perhaps, on an individual basis, an inner feeling, or drive that makes it seem necessary to seek out a different kind of knowledge to that which science can offer.

For me, the path of discovery upon which I travel makes me feel more fully human every day – whatever that is!  The spiritual experiences are a by-product of my self-development… perhaps it should be called my self-enlightenment.

