6th Sept ’11  (taken from my personal journal…)

I was just listening to Phil Collins’ song ‘Another Day in Paradise’ and I started crying with sadness – never happened before!… (and there I am in the middle of the office at work listening on my IPod…!)  but sadness of what?
The first two verses describe something that must happen every day in every city all over the world.

She calls out to the man on the street
Sir, can you help me?
It’s cold and I’ve nowhere to sleep
There’s somewhere, you can tell me.

He walks on, doesn’t look back
He pretends he can’t hear her.
Starts to whistle as he crosses the street
he’s embarrassed to be there.

The sadness I felt was because I couldn’t help but think of this as a true reflection of the shameful nature of many humans, as I too have ignored the homeless in the past in much the same way… and now, after hearing this, I feel guilty… and ashamed.
I take only a little solace in the fact that for a few years now, I haven’t ignored them, I have at least acknowledged them, but still, I have rarely helped.

Arrrgghhh!!  Where’s my compassion???  …from the tears, I suppose it’s growing…

How on earth did we (society) ever reach this position – where we ignore those who need help the most; probably needing more than we know how to give, but they are still asking… and we are still ignoring them
What will I do next time…?

I have money, I have a good life, I have the means to be able to help… I can’t walk away next time can I? …especially as I am trying to live a life of ‘doing that which is right’.

But what can I do??? …and what will you do now that you’ve read this???

