3rd May ‘11  (taken from my personal journal…)

The pursuit of knowledge slowly erodes the sense of wonder that one has when they look up at the stars, or when they gaze out at their first sight of a great mountain range.
I once read somewhere: “Man-like ape became ape-like man at the moment when he first looked up at the stars and wondered.”

I had a friend who was once shown a card trick and was duly impressed.
When asked if he wanted to know how it was done, he replied “No! I don’t want it to lose the magic!

When the goal of complete knowledge is finally attained, will we have left behind all that it is that makes us human… or will we have become a complete human…?
Surely, bathing in the wonder of existence in blissful ignorance of the mechanisms and origins of much that is around us, is more than enough for anyone’s soul.
…I don’t think that I would ever want to be a complete human…
I wonder if anyone will realise how much has been lost.

The excitement of living fades like the setting sun,
with the growing fortunes that knowledge brings.
How much is gained?
And how much is lost? 

Childhood is measured out by sounds and smells and sights, before the dark hour of reason grows. – John Betjeman

