Over recent months I have been becoming more aware of certain aspects of my nature, and this growing awareness is enabling me to understand why I like the things I like and why I cannot follow certain paths that the majority follow.
I have, over my years of searching for ‘an answer’ looked at reasonable depth at the mainstream religious systems and have had the fortune to become friends with a local parson who, unusually, is not blinkered and blinded by the indoctrination of his religion. He is fantastically open-minded.

I have never felt right about Christianity, to the extent that I even remember as a teenager on holiday in France, we visited the Chartrés cathedral, and for the first time I had the distinct feeling that I was in the wrong place… to the extent that it almost sent a chill down my spine.

In more recent years I discovered Eastern philosophy through a study of Martial Arts (still on-going) and found that I had found something that made natural sense to me. Also, I find that the ‘Warrior’ side of things has great appeal.
(To clarify, to me, the word Warrior means a person who is willing to fight for what he feels is right, but using violence as a VERY last resort. He should always attempt to use thought, understanding, compassion and diplomacy; all peaceful non-physical means before employing violence. Above all, violence should only be used as defence, never offence.)
This resonance with a Warrior way has explained to me why I’ve always shied away from the ‘love everyone’ and ‘forgive everyone’ message of Christianity. I’m not saying it is wrong, but that it is not suited to me. I simply do not fit that mould.

In discovering my self I have come to realise my nature by seeing what I am attracted to.
Films like The Last Samurai, The Matrix trilogy and Braveheart have taught me that to fight for, and possibly die for a belief or cause is worth life itself.
Films like The Bucket List, August Rush and Baggervance have taught me reach out and enjoy life in its fullest.
Books by Paulo Coelho and Richard Bach have taught me to look inward to my heart and to learn to be myself, not what others or society tell me I should be.
The lessons of Bruce Lee through John Little books have shown me who I am! Reading John’s books are like reading my own words that I’ve yet to write… quite spooky!
I guess what I’m trying to say is that a person should try to not feel guilty if they find that they cannot fit the mould that others’ say they should. One should not feel obliged to be the same as others.
An example would be the way that for a long time I wondered if there was something wrong with me, or with the way I was raised because I don’t have the ‘forgiveness’ in my nature that British culture (influenced by centuries of Christian philosophy) says I should.

There are so many quotes I have collected over the years that all point to the same thing. I’ll leave you with a few to ponder:

You have the right to have what you want, exactly when you want it. Because on the menu of life, you are today’s special, and tomorrow’s, and the day after that, and… well you get the drift. Yes that’s right, we may be the King, but you my friend are the almighty ruler – Burger King slogan

Never be afraid of being you. It’s one of the most real things in the world. – on Eva Cassidy’s True Colours video

Work like you don’t need the money,
Love like you’ve never been hurt,
And dance like you do when nobody’s watching. – source unknown

There’s so many different worlds
So many different suns
And we have just one world
But we live in different ones – taken from Dire Straits – Brothers in Arms

Words in the heart cannot be taken. – Dorfl in Terry Pratchett’s book ‘Feet of clay’

If the goal of dancing were to reach a certain spot on the floor, then obviously the fastest dancer would be the best. The point of dancing is the dance itself. – Alan Watts; as told by his son Mark in his Foreword to Bruce Lee’s book ‘The Warrior Within’

The meaning of life is not a problem to be solved, but a reality to be experienced. – Johannes Jacobus van der Leeuw

-‘What the head makes cloudy, the heart makes very clear’ – Don Henley – New York Minute

