All people believe in things, no matter how mild their belief – it is an integral part of being human.
These beliefs can range from the major, life altering belief in a certain deity(s) or an equivalent, to the very minor beliefs such as which type of food is the best for, say, countering the effects of fatigue.
Some of these beliefs can be easily justified by the individual, both to themselves and to others due to it being a result of their personal experiences in life “I do it this way because I once experienced [x], therefore, this is right because it works for me.”
Often beliefs such as these are shared by others because of similar experiences, thereby ‘confirming’ to each believer that the ‘truth’ has been found.

With all of this, I have no problem. Each person is the sum total of their life’s experiences and influences up to any given point in time, therefore it would be utterly pointless to argue against their experience.
This doesn’t mean to say that I will agree with their belief; I may have had a different experience; but then, I don’t expect them to believe in mine either.

However……
It has been my observation for a few years, that often the more minor beliefs are formed by a person’s first, and perhaps repeated exposure to something (either repeatedly experienced, or taught as dogma by a respected person) that appears to be correct, i.e. ‘The sky is blue’  or  ‘The sun comes out in the day, and the moon at night’.
As much as these two examples are true, the dogma within the words is only a part of the whole picture. A little observation / investigation allows a person to see and experience that there are variations to this truth… that there is more to learn than what is initially proposed.

For example; it was recently pointed out to me (and proposed in such a way that this person appears to believe in this claim – and I’m not saying they’re wrong… but read on…) that a certain fruit type is 10000 more effective at killing off cancer cells that the most modern medicine. The subsequent text went on to highlight (yet again) the ‘conspiracy’ theory that the benefits of this super fruit is not communicated to the masses because of the financial impact it would have on the pharmaceutical companies that are producing the synthetic (but less effective) equivalent.

My first reaction was to quickly do a little research on this claim to see what other organisations had to say on this.
One of the first websites I came across suggested that instead of 10000 times more effective, it was in fact only 100 times more effective. (As an engineer, I have to ask how this is measured / quantified…)
The next website suggested that taken in chronic amounts, the intake of this fruit has been linked to the onset of Parkinson’s disease… hmm, interesting, considering that 5 minutes earlier it was proposed to me that this is some kind of super food!

Now, I haven’t looked any further (and probably won’t as I don’t have enough interest), but what I’m trying to point out is that just because one person says something is fantastic, doesn’t mean it actually is.
I appreciate that we all know this, but it seems that it is too easy to forget this little bit of wisdom and simply ‘go with the flow’ and get caught up in the hype.

Now, I can be an argumentative git at times, but when I am, it is because I am usually trying to get to the core truth of something and I find it frustrating that the other party cannot see past their belief pattern (or perhaps my spoken words aren’t as eloquent as my written ones!).
I am of a nature today that simply cannot believe something just because somebody says so – no matter how much they are respected as an authority on the matter.
I need to understand why and how this ‘truth’ has been arrived at, otherwise, to me, it is just another proposed empty belief.

I think the point I’m trying to make here is, that  no matter how strong your beliefs are in any one thing; please, please take a step back to investigate just how close to the truth (or how far) the claim actually is. Don’t believe in something just because Mr ‘famous so-and-so’ said so.

As I’ve said before:

To prove your beliefs valid, great effort should be put forth into disproving them.

