Whilst on a recent short holiday with my 7yr old son, we were talking about why I try to be always busy doing things I enjoy. Why I want to try everything, to experience everything.
To attempt to get the message across, I decided to try to paint an analogical picture in his head.
I said “Imagine that you are given the opportunity to go into the greatest gold mine ever. Where the nuggets are so abundant that they are just lying around on the floor. You are given a bucket and told that you are allowed to take as much as you like up to the limit of what you can fit in the bucket.”

I then turned to look him in the eye to say “Wouldn’t it be a shame if you only partially filled that bucket?
He looked at me, grinned, and with a quizzical look on his face said “I don’t know what you’re talking about…!

Ha!  I had to laugh…!  At times I have to remind myself that he is still only 7…

For those who aren’t following… the gold mine is your opportunity to enjoy life, filled with opportunities of true richness (the nuggets of gold), given by whatever creator you believe in.
The bucket is the memories of the good times of your life that you will look back on when lying on your death bed.

Now, I don’t know about you, but when I reach my death bed, I want my bucket to be overflowing!

